Horizontal Stabilizers and a Home Run

Seems like it’s been too long since I’ve posted anything here and, for those who follow this site, I do apologize.  There are some weeks where I get more done then others.  Baseball is being played, and I’ve been trying to keep both of my sons busy with pitching, fielding, and hitting training.  My oldest begins a training camp next week in preparation for trying-out for his high school’s team (wow… I have to let that sink in for a minute…) and my youngest son’s spring/summer season is beginning to wind-down.  Today he made several good plays at first base, pitched 1 1/2 innings, and also hit a solo home run.  In a season of ups-and-downs, this was a great day (you may have heard me cheering… Ha!).  During a day where major leaguers Edison Volquez pitched a no-no, and Albert Pujols hit home run number 600, this was much more exciting.  To me, anyway.

Oh yeah, the F-105.  Since my last post I’ve been tweaking the fuselage and working on the topography of the mesh.  That involved cutting a lot of new edges, welding a lot of vertices, and making the basic shape more refined.  Sometimes a change to one area necessitated a change in another.

The most noticeable change has been the addition of horizontal stabilizers.

F-105
F-105 (© John Matthews)

The horizontal stabilizer had to be initially cut into the fuselage mesh.  The polygons within the newly cut shape were then extruded away from the fuselage a bit at a time to form the base of the stabilizer that’s attached to the fuselage.  The base doesn’t move, but the stabilizer itself was all-moving, hence the stepped shape.

F-105
F-105 (© John Matthews)

Extruding the stabilizer from the fuselage was not a faster way of doing it, but it will yield better results when the time comes to make UV coordinate maps and then texture maps.  I initially tried modeling the stabilizer separate from the fuselage, but it would have taken more time to get that right than extruding it since there are other things to model near it which will have to be mapped and textured also later.

F-105
F-105 (© John Matthews)

I’m not entirely certain I’ll make the wings the same way though.  Since there’s no blend or fillet from the wing to the fuselage, the wings may end up being a separate object attached to the fuselage when they’re completed.  Anyway, after I refine the stabilizers a bit more, I’ll likely tackle the wings next.  So, stay tuned and check back to see whether there’s been any further progress.

Or, better yet, subscribe to my site and get emails about updates here.  And of course, please visit me at my Facebook page, too (https://www.facebook.com/JohnMatthewsArt/) and hit that “Like” button.  I’ve begun getting to know some very interesting people who have very interesting stories to tell.

Until next time, “happy trails!”

~John

Leave a Reply

